Dilemmas

Recently, the new format Times Educational Supplement asked for a piece based around the 2nd edition of my Dilemmas book.   I was told I had 800 words and had to include a ‘top ten tips’ section, to fit with the way they set these things out on the back few pages.  A young London editor at the other end of the phone then sent me his redraft – jazzing it up a bit.  I edited out the phrases I least liked and we ended up with this: http://www.tes.co.uk/article.aspx?storycode=6373327 . At the end of the process, I concluded, as people of my age has often done, that not all change is progress.

Apologies to my regular readers for my long absence – two months since my last post.  Since my Mum passed away in July I’ve been hibernating in a muddle of work…. carrying on with life in a very busy way, juggling various writing projects…. but there’s a bit of me that’s still numb, so numb I’m not sure which bit it is. In Sept I said, ‘blogging again’.  I make no such claims today.  Let’s see what tomorrow brings.

Leave a Reply

